Since its creation, IWRA recognises the contributions towards water management and the excellence of water researchers, professionals and organisations. IWRA presents 5 main awards:




The 2015 recipient of the Crystal Drop Award is Vijay J. Singh. He received this award during the XVth IWRA World Water Congress in Edinburgh, Scotland, UK.

Professor V.P. Singh is a Distinguished Professor and Caroline and William N. Lehrer Distinguished Chair in Water Engineering at Texas A & M University. He received his B.S., M.S., Ph.D. and D.Sc. degrees in engineering. He is a registered professional engineer, a registered professional hydrologist, and an Honorary diplomate of ASCE-AAWRE. He has published more than 780 journal articles; 24 textbooks; 55 edited reference books; 80 book chapters; and 303 conference papers in the area of hydrology and water resources. He has received more than 70 national and international awards, including Arid Lands Hydraulic Engineering Award, Chow Award, Torrens Award, Norman Medal, and EWRI Lifetime Achievement Award, from ASCE; Linsley Award and Founder’s Award, from AIH; and three honorary doctorates. He is a Distinguished Member of ASCE, and a fellow EWRI, AWRA, IWRS, ISAE, IASWC and IE and a member of 10 international engineering academies. He has served as President of the American Institute of Hydrology (AIH).

2011: International Water Management Institute (IWMI)

2008: Mahmoud Abu-Zeid

2005: Malin Falkenmark

2003: Benedito Braga

2000: Yutaka Takahasi

1997: Rotary International

1994: Asit K. Biswas

1991: Yahia Abdel Mageed

1988: UNEP and its Executive Director Dr. Mostafa Kamal (joint award)

1985: UNICEF




The 2015 recipient of the Ven Te Chow Memorial Award is Rabi Mohtar. He delivered his lecture during the XVth IWRA World Water Congress in Edinburgh, Scotland, UK.


Rabi Mohtar is a TEES Endowed Professor at Texas A&M University, Founding Executive Director of the Qatar Environment and Energy Research Institute (QEERI), member of the Qatar Foundation Research and Development and inaugural Director of the Global Engineering Programs, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana. Mohtar’s research addresses global resource challenges: development of the Water-Energy-Food Nexus framework linking science to policy; characterisation of the soil-water medium using thermodynamic modeling; efficacy of non-traditional water using physical-based methodologies; and applications for sustainable, integrated water management. Distinguished Alumni of the American University of Beirut (2014) and recipient of the Kishida International Award (2010), Mohtar serves on the World Economic Forum Global Agenda Councils on Water Security and Climate Change (2009-2014), and board of governors of the World Water Council (2012-present) [].  

2011: Peter H. Gleick

2008: John Pigram

2005: Benedito Braga

2003: Asit K. Biswas

2000: Janusz Kindler

1997: Glenn E. Stout

1996: Ben Chie Yen

1994: Andras Szollosi-Nagy

1991: Malin Falkenmark

1988: Vujica M. Yevjevich



The wining papers are selected from all papers published in the last three volumes of the IWRA official journal, Water International (WI). Nomination is made by a jury of the Editorial Board of WIn and vetted through the Awards Committee of IWRA.

2012, 2013 Best Paper awardees during the gala dinner of the XVth World Water Congress in Edinburgh, on Thursday 28 May 2015

Please note that Best Paper articles since 2005 are free to access for non-members.

2015: Mirja Kattelus et al for the article China’s southbound transboundary river basins: a case of asymmetry

2014:  Marian J. Neal (Patrick) for the article The cycles and spirals of justice in water-allocation decision making.

An honourable mention is awarded to Katie M. Meehan and Anna W. Moore for Downspout politics, upstream conflict: formalizing rainwater harvesting in the United States.

2013:  Two awardees:

Two honourable mentions were awarded:

2012: Suvi Sojamo, Martin Keulertz, Jeroen Warner and John Anthony (Tony) Allan for the article "Virtual water hegemony: the role of agribusiness in global water governance" (in Water International, volume 37, issue 2, 2012)

Two papers deserved honourable mention:

2011: There are two winners for 2011:

An honourable mention is awarded to Andrea K. Gerlak, Robert G. Varady et al. for Hydrosolidarity and beyond: can ethics and equity find a place in today's water resource management?

2010: James C. Bathurst, Jaime Amezaga, Felipe Cisneros, Marcelo Gaviño Novillo, Andrés Iroumé, Mario A. Lenzi, Juan Mintegui Aguirre, Miriam Miranda and Adriana Urciuolo for the article: "Forests and floods in Latin America: science, management, policy and the EPIC FORCE project" (in Water international, Volume 35, Issue 2).

2009: Simon E. Cook, Myles J. Fisher, Meike S. Andersson, Jorge Rubiano and Mark Giordano for the article: "Water, food and livelihoods in river basins" (in Water international, Volume 34, Issue 1).

2008: Neil S. Grigg for the article: "Integrated water resources management: balancing views and improving practice" (in Water international, Volume 33, Issue 3).

2007: two recipients were awarded:

2006: B. Swallow, N. Johnson, R. Meinzen-Dick, A. Knoxfor for the article: "The Challenges of Inclusive Cross-Scale Collective Action in Watersheds" (in Water international, Volume 31, Issue 3).

2005: C. Sadoff and D. Grey for the article: "Cooperation on International Rivers: A Continuum for Securing and Sharing Benefits" (in Water international, Volume 30, Issue 4).

2004: Vladimir Smakhtin, Carmen Revenga and Petra Döll for the article: "A pilot global assessment of environmental water requirements and scarcity" (in Water international, Volume 29, Issue 3).

2003: Salman M.A. Salman for the article in two parts: "From Marrakesh through The Hague to Kyoto: Has the global debate on water reached a dead end?". Part One in Water international, Volume 28, Issue 4 and Part Two in Water international, Volume 29, Issue 1.

2002: Ximing Cai and Mark W. Rosegrant for the article in two parts: "Global water demand and supply projections", Part One: "A Modeling Approach" and Part Two: "Results and Prospects to 2025" in Water international, Volume 27, Issue 2.



XVth World Water Congress Special Award for Excellence in Water Resources Management

Institutions that are responsible for water resources management are the frontline for delivering this precious resource for the people and for ensuring the protection of the environment. Faced with constantly changing needs and pressures, the provision of good water management means the integration of sound knowledge and good science with appropriate policies and efficient implementation.

This award seeks to recognise regional, national or local institutions that have exhibited sustained excellence in water resources management. The award seeks to share and promote the associated experiences and knowledge with other organisations, scientists and water professionals around the world to improve sustainable and equitable water management.

The Prize

The award was given during the awards ceremony held during the IWRA World Water Congress. It was in the form of a special plaque with a certificate and presented to the representative of the awarded institution. 

The special award was presented at the 15th World Water Congress in Edinburgh, Scotland. There was two awardees:


The Scottish Government



2011 IWRA - International Water Resources Association - - Admin